Sweetness and Love

January 19th theme is Sweet! The obvious picture would be of a dessert of some kind or a pile of sugar. Instead I decided to put up my favorite precious picture of my kids. It was taken a few years ago (12 1/2 years actually). But it’s just the sweetest thing ever.

Michael and Lauren at a tender sweet moment...1999

That is sweet but this is sweeter:

We were meeting my parents to let them take Michael to spend a couple of weeks with them one summer (probably 1998ish). Lauren just grabbed him and planted one right on him. I can’t believe we actually had the camera on them and captured the moment.

The January 20th theme is Someone You Love. I could actually use the same picture for that. Or I could put a picture of me and the hubs. I could also put a picture of Faith. But I’ve used pictures of them for different days already. So I have decided to post a picture of my Papaw.

It’s not a very good one. It’s a cell phone picture of a polaroid picture. So, that explains the quality. But this is my Papaw – Melvin Hughes. He died in 1986. But I find myself missing him just as much today as I did then. He was fun and loving. He was just my best buddy. If I wrote 1000 words about him it could never explain just how special he was to me when I was growing up. He and my Mamaw (I don’t have a picture of her handy) were just the best grandparents. I spent practically every weekend with them. I remember in 1977 (I think) when we had a blizzard in Ohio I was so upset that I couldn’t go stay with them. The roads were bad. The snow was unreal. But I talked to him on the phone and he said he would come and get me. Of course I see now that would have been a bad idea (as my parents told me then) but I have never forgotten that. He and my Mamaw are together in Heaven once again – along with many special people in my life. But when he died I was sure my heart would fall out of my chest into a trillion little pieces. I love you, Papaw!

I’m also going to use this post as my Flashback Friday entry since all of these pictures are flashback pics.

 

Flashback Friday

7 thoughts on “Sweetness and Love

  1. ok I teared up big time at what you wrote about your papaw…I feel the same way about my granddaddy. You couldn’t have said it more perfectly when you said “when he died I was sure my heart would fall out of my chest into a trillion little pieces”. I 100% get that! It’s so nice to know that we’ll see them again someday but in the meantime, it’s hard not to miss them like crazy! Mine died in 98 and I miss him just as much today! Beautifully written!

    • Jessica – I’m sorry about your Granddaddy being gone too. Some people I just wish we could hold on to and carry around with us, selfishly, our whole lives. I’m tearing up now thinking that there is someone else out there who understands my depth of love and pain as well. (((U)))

Leave a Reply

