James – Mercy Triumphs Week 1

If you’ve been following me on Facebook then you know how excited I have been about beginning Beth Moore’s new Bible Study, James – Mercy Triumphs today.

It was as terrific as I was anticipating. What I was most surprised about is how different this study is from Beth’s other studies. I believe I have done every study she’s written at least once – some three times. So, I know how Beth writes and what her studies are like. I’ve been so exciting about this study because I love the book of James. Every verse in the book is a nugget of wisdom as rich as any you would find anywhere else in the Bible. And I happen to know that my daughter loves the book of James. That excites me! I wanted some way to integrate her into the study as well. We’ve never committed to a long term study together. But as it works out one of the paths the study can take is one that will allow me to do the study at home with her as well. I was praying for a way that she and I could work it out and it just so happens that the way that Beth wrote this study will be very doable for us to do it together here.

Let me explain. In case you aren’t familiar with Beth Moore’s Bible Studies, most of her studies are 10 weeks long. You have a workbook that has 5 days worth of homework per week. When you get together for the study you discuss the homework and then you watch an hour long video of Beth discussing some aspect of the study for that week. This study is structured differently. There are 5 different levels of participation. You can mix the various levels in any way you would like. Each level gets a little more involved. You choose what will work for you so that you can reach the level of involvement you need. The levels are:

1 – Participating in the video sessions only. for this level all you would have to do is watch the videos and fill in the video guide. You don’t even have to have the workbook if you don’t want to. Someone can make a copy of the listening guide each week. You can come to class – just watch the videos – involve yourself in the discussion as it moves along. This is what I can do with Lauren. I can make a copy of the listening guide with her and borrow the DVD to watch with her. We can watch it each week and talk about it.

2 – Participate in the video sessions + doing the weekly homework in the workbook. This is the typical way of doing a Beth Moore study like I mentioned above.

3 – Participate in the video sessions + doing the weekly homework in the workbook + handwriting the entire book of James at little each week. This allows you to go a little deeper in retaining what you learn because you are not only hearing it, discussing it but you’re also writing it.

4 – Participating in the video sessions + doing the weekly homework in the workbook + handwriting the entire book of James + reading “The Next Level with Melissa”. Melissa is Beth’s daughter. She has written a deeper theological piece to accompany each week of study. It appears at the end of the week’s homework. Melissa is a theologian and provides a more academic approach.

5 – Participating in the video sessions + doing the weekly homework in the workbook + handwriting the entire book of James + reading “the Next Level with Melissa” + Memorize the book of James. WOAH!! That’s hardcore! I’m afraid I won’t be able to go this level. I can’t remember my own name most days. But some people are terrific at memorizing and wouldn’t find this difficult at all. More power to ya.

So, as you can see this study is much different. I’m so excited to get started. I’m planning on digging in tonight. I hope to share some of the nuggets I discover on this journey. Watch out for them. It’s gonna be quite the journey indeed! I’d love for you to join me.

Leave a Reply

