No More Bench Sitting For This Mom

My newest obsession for my family is FOOD!!! I started doing the week night cooking about 3 weeks ago. And I haven’t said “I hate cooking” or “I dread cooking tonight” a single time. Those comments were regular comments I would have made prior to this phase of my life. But one night it just hit me that I’m feeling better these days (thank you, Advocare) and there’s no reason why I can’t take up some of the slack from Ron. Ron is a great cook. He loves making things up in his head. And honestly in the last 3 weeks I’ve made one thing that was a flop. And right now I could tell you what went wrong and that if I made it again I could correct that and it would be better.

So cooking has slowly turned into a hobby I enjoy. I have added a page here on my blog called “Foodie Blogs I Love”. I have written a blurb about each site to give you a little idea of what you will find if you look there. I’m adding about a site a day right now. People are recommending sites to me and of course I’m finding them via Pinterest. I have a board on Pinterest titled “Pins I’ve Tried”. So if you look at that board you can see a quick comment about how it worked for us when I tried it.

When I was growing up I spent nearly every weekend and holiday at my grandparent’s house. My grandmother was one of those southern women who loved to cook. She rarely let anyone bring a dish to family dinners. She wanted to fix it all. I’ve always been disappointed thinking that my grandchildren wouldn’t have that memory of me when they come to Mimi’s house in the future. It’s always bothered me. But now I don’t think they would be able to say that anymore.

Last night I made a super yummy dish that I found on Pinterest linked to Joyful Mama’s Kitchen blog. I will post the process in just a second. But Ron gave me the greatest gift when he said “Your Mamaw would be so proud of you. She would love this.” I cried! He’s right! And that’s what keeps me going – my wanting to be like her.

Ok – here’s the recipe:

Chicken enchiladas with green chili sour cream sauce
*These are seriously so so good*
10 soft taco shells
2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
3 Tbsp. butter
3 Tbsp. flour
2 cups chicken broth
1 cup sour cream
1 (4 oz) can diced green chillies
1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×13 pan
2. Mix chicken and 1 cup cheese.  Roll up in tortillas and place in pan.
3. In a sauce pan, melt butter, stir in flour and cook 1 minute.  Add broth and whisk until smooth.  Heat over medium heat until thick and bubbly.
4. Stir in sour cream and chilies.  Do not bring to boil, you don’t want curdled sour cream.
5. Pour over enchiladas and top with remaining cheese.

6. Bake 22 min and then under high broil for 3 min to brown the cheese.

shredded chicken mixed with shredded Monterey Jack cheese and wrapped in tortillas

Making the mix on the stove top

Pour the mixture over the enchiladas and top with more shredded cheese

Bake for 22 minutes at 350 and 3 minutes on broil to brown the cheese on top

A square of pure yumminess on the plate

I also made our neighbors with the baby that just came home from NICU this weekend a meal. Veggie soup! Apparently it was a big hit. Their 3 year old boy had 3 bowls of it.

Yummy Yummy all around!!! I’ve discovered the joy of taking care of my family in every way. Most of the last 10 years I have been in bed and they have all been taking care of me. I’m loving being the wife and mother to the fullest! They are my gift, we’re all a team and I’m excited to be the team leader for a while instead of the team member who sits the bench. No more bench sitting for this mom!

4 thoughts on “No More Bench Sitting For This Mom

  1. I’m completely impressed! Did you do anything yesterday other than cook? I can see easy ways to cut calories which means it can become part of my new 1 dinner a night plan. I’d also love to see the veggie soup recipe posted. Good job Mama. I’m soooooo PROUD of YOU!

  2. It is a joy to see and hear you talk about enjoying the cooking and other household chores, my prayers are being answered , hope your ‘new life’ will continue. can’t wait to come down and visit and watch you cook and then me eat those delicious meals.

    love mom

Leave a Reply

