Honey That Chicken Was A Winner

Last night I cooked what I thought to be a pretty good dinner once again. However, it highlighted a few things that I still have to perfect in my cooking adventure. And I’m also starting to notice that everything I cook is in one pot. So, I need to venture out from the casserole dishes into the entree and sides kinds of meals. Then again soccer season is getting ready to start so crock pot meals will be coming in handy. Does anyone else always cook casseroles? Maybe it’s not such a big deal after all.

At any rate, I cooked Honey Chicken with rice. Now let me just go ahead and make an admission right off the top. I was going to try fried rice. But when I got the pan out and stood there in front of the stove I chickened out. So, maybe next time. I could have asked Ron to make it when he got home. However, the point of this new way of life is so Ron doesn’t have to cook when he comes home. I have given in a few times when I’ve had bad days and had to leave dinner up to him. But I’m trying to make that the exception to the rule and not the norm.

After putting on my Twitter and FB that I was making Honey Chicken I had a number of requests for the recipe. I saw it on Pinterest first of all. So, I will have to check and see exactly where it originated from so as to give proper credit. But I’ll look that up in a bit after I type it all out.  So, here we go!

Honey Chicken

This recipe says it serves two but I just used 4 frozen boneless chicken breasts (the kind that come frozen in a bag). The sauce seemed to come out just right and I didn’t need to make any other than what is listed here in the recipe. So, I’m not sure that the number of servings is correct.

3/4 pound of chicken (as stated above – I used 4 frozen breasts from a bag)

1/2 tsp. Salt

1/4 tsp. black pepper

1/2 cup honey (mine had turned to sugar but I soaked the bottle in some hot water and then stuck it in the microwave for 30 seconds and it was fine)

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/8 cup chopped onion or 1/16 cup onion flakes (I used the flakes because I was lazy)

1/8 cup ketchup

1 T oil

1 clove of minced garlic (I used the kind in the jar – greatest invention EVER)

1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes (I didn’t have these so I used Paprika – some website said I could substitute with it)

Season both sides of chicken with salt and pepper (of course, mine were blocks of ice so after I sprayed the crock pot I just tossed them in) and put into crock pot. In a small bowl, combine honey, soy sauce, onion, ketchup, oil, garlic and pepper flakes. Pour over chicken. Cook on low for 3 hours (takes a little longer when you start with frozen breasts) or 1 1/2 hours on high. (In the last 30 minutes of cooking time I took the chicken out and cut them up into small pieces and put them back in the crock pot with the sauce).

This can also be cooked in the oven for 20 minutes at 350.

Serve with rice or noodles. I threw in a can of baby peas

As I admitted earlier, I chickened (no pun intended but it worked nicely) out on the fried rice because I had never made it before. I just used plain white rice. I cooked 4 cups of rice but really only needed about 3 probably. I put the rice in the wok with some oil to keep it from burning and then poured the whole chicken mixture from the crock pot into the rice pan.

With the cut/shredded chicken

Ta-Da!!! There you have it! Next time I will be brave and attempt the fried rice!

Today’s meal is gonna be a no brainer – Tortellini!

3 thoughts on “Honey That Chicken Was A Winner

  1. Looks good! I’ll look for the pin too. You actually did yourself a big favor in not attempting the fried rice. I’m assuming you had not precooked and cooled the rice before hand. That is the secret to great fried rice. Always use precooked, cold, and brought to room temp rice.

    I tend to go for one-pot soups/stews/crockpot & casseroles in the winter. When it warms up I do a lot of grilling. I enjoy it more and, to me, it just says “comfort” :).

Leave a Reply

