The Heirloom Handkerchief

April 6th marked the 10 year anniversary of my grandmother’s funeral. It’s hard to believe that it’s been that long. When you get to the age that you start seeing important people from your childhood dying it reminds you just how short life is and how quickly time goes. I’ve been talking about that a lot lately since the kids are set to graduate next month and both leave for college in August. Savor every minute with those you love because before you know it the time will be gone.

I have a few of my grandmother’s things that she gave me over my lifetime or items that I “tagged” after she passed away. I came across one of those a few days ago. I can’t recall if it is something that she gave me or something I took.

This is a handkerchief of hers. The first thing I did was put it up to my nose to see if there was still a scent of her on it. To my great surprise, it did. It smells like her. It’s hard to describe how someone smells. She wore Estee Lauder perfume and she had moth balls placed in all of her closets. To just think of those two smells together might make you crinkle your nose. But to me those smells mixed together bring up sweet memories. It brings to mind all the times that I would come to visit after leaving home and she would grab me up and squeeze me tight. She would always whisper “I’ve missed you” as she hugged me. If I could only have one more hug – one more squeeze – one more whisper in ear. Then when I would leave she would give me another of those big hugs and ask me not to go but telling me she loved me.

I dug a little further in the drawer where I found the handkerchief and look what I found.

I found a total of 6 handkerchiefs. Each one smells just like her. They are my most treasured possessions. I am going to put each one into it’s own baggie to preserve that smell as long as possible. I’ve decided I’m gonna give each of the kids one. I thought it would be a wonderful treasure to pass down from their Grandma Bonnie.

I love her and I look forward to the day I can feel her wrap her arms around me tight in heaven and hear her tell me “I’ve missed you”. Until then I will treasure these heirloom handkerchiefs and remember.

Leave a Reply

