Lauren’s Senior Banquet Night Blessing

Lauren,

The first time I had an inkling that you were gonna be a handful was when I was seven months pregnant with you and you were insisting that you were ready to be born and were determined to have your way. Ten days of battling in the hospital with many doctors to change your mind did the trick. Then you decided “find, then I won’t be born at all” and didn’t want to come. That should have been a warning. But the day we finally convinced you that you weren’t in charge and you were finally born and I saw your perfect face I forgot all of that and instantly fell for you hard and fast. My heart swelled once again as I realized this was also one of the top favorite days of my life. I enjoyed snuggle you close and watching you sleep. It didn’t take me long to realize my life was going to be a different world. You have been a bright spot in my life.

Aside from the beginning you were very spirited. Your scream ( no merely a cryP was recognizable to all. It could be heard from the nursery at Huntington Oaks FWB Church all the way into the sanctuary while daddy was preaching. YOu let us know pretty quickly when something wasn’t going your way and you need it corrected ASAP. There have been many times that this was hard to handle. But what I’m realizing now is that God planned for your personality to be like that to serve you well in the future. You are strong. Many times stronger than me. You are a social butterfly. That too has been a lesson to me. You have been striving all of your life to be independent. Now as I look on the horizon and see Lipscomb University I know that all of those things will be a great asset for you. I’ve learned a lot in being your mother. And as I think of finally having to do what you’ve wanted for so – for me to let go of you and let you fly on your own – I’m sure that you are gonna be just fine.

You will never get far enough away from my love for you, my arms will always be open and ready to hold you when you need them to, my heart will be ready to accept any talks you need to have and I will always be on the sidelines cheering you on. You will never get so far that I’m not just a thought away. You will also never get so far from God’s heart and you can never escape his love for you. When you are unsure about something talk to Him. He has a plan for you as your life verse promises:

Jeremiah 29:11-13 I know what I am planning for you,” says the Lord. “I have good plans for you, not plans to hurt you. I will give you hope and a good future.12 Then you will call my name. You will come to me and pray to me, and I .will listen to you.13 You will search for me. And when you search for me with all your heart, you will find me!

What a pair the two of you are? Brother and Sister by birth. Friends by love and affirmation.

His plan will be better than anything you can ever dream. Make sure you stay in touch with hm as you search for the goals in your life, his will for your life and that plan is already written.

There are many things I want for you in your future. Many of these you have heard from us all of your life. i wish you a lifetime of wise decisions, following God’s will, using your talents for his glory, contentment with your life’s calling and love – so much love that it overflows your heart. And as you go off on your own and someday as you raise your own family never forget

Deuteronomy 6:5-9 Love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your strength.6 Always remember these commands I give you today.7 Teach them to your children, and talk about them when you sit at home and walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.8 Write them down and tie them to your hands as a sign. Tie them on your forehead to remind you,9 and write them on your doors and gates.

He will bless you as he has blessed us WITH you. I love you baby girl – nothing will ever change that.

4 thoughts on “Lauren’s Senior Banquet Night Blessing

  1. Beautifully written! I have a 24 y/o on his own, so I’ve been here before, but having my daughter, who just turned 18 and who is graduating this year, get to this milestone in life is hitting me harder. She is strong, beautiful, smart and funny, yet so very innocent and naive…I worry…my work is not done, and she isn’t going away anywhere, as her further education is going to enable her to live at home…so I have more time! lol….being a mom is hard….watching them grow up and become their own people is a gift. I feel very blessed. Thanks for sharing!
    Tammy

  2. what a wonderful blessing to lauren, yes, she came out fighting for independence and even tho she was/is a sweet spirited young lady, she will always hold a special spot in my heart, yes, those summers she and michael came to visit us for few wks, it was always hard on her, she was so homesick, but she/we got thru it, we loved having her and michael ,we done alot of things in hopes she would remember them, in her heart. hope to this day she does, love you lauren, mamaw and papaw.keep your eyes upon Jesus, he will lead the way all you do.

Leave a Reply

