Michael’s Senior Banquet Night Blessing

Thursday night was Senior Banquet night at our church. We have approximately 20 seniors in our youth group this year. The banquet is all about the parents having the opportunity to write and share a blessing for our seniors. Since we have two seniors there for a little while it was like the Hunter Hour.

The blessings and wishes shared by all the parents were so moving. I am so grateful for such an amazing group of young people surrounding my children. I am especially grateful for the Youth Ministers we have at TDF, Aaron and Casey Pontious. They are challenging and supportive and involved in every child’s life in some way.

They have impacted Michael and Lauren in a spiritual manner and on a personal level.

I wanted to share the blessings I wrote for each of the kids. I’ve debated about how to do this and I think I’ve decided for it to be a featured post for each of them. So I will start with Michael’s.

Michael we are so very thankful that on November 14, 1993 God gave you to us. We had been waiting for a long time for you to come to our life. The day you were born is one of the happiest days of my life. You have been an incredible gift in our family. The first time I held you I felt my heart swell twice as big as it was just minutes before. When I looked into your face I prayed in my mind that God would bless you and protect you. I have been blessed by you more times than you will ever know.

You are the most even-tempered child. You learned that from watching your father. God knew I needed men like you to balance me out. I admire that you let things roll off your back. I love that you are your own person and you never worry about trying to be like someone else. You are confident in how God has made you and you are using every opportunity to serve him.

I want you to know that I will always be here for you to talk to, to joke with, to hug, to accept, to admire and to advise you in the days ahead of ou. I am truly excited to see what God has for you as you begin this next journey of your life. I’ll be honest it’s going to be very difficult to let you go from our home. I’ve learned a lot about myself in the last month as I have prepared for this season of your life. I am having a hard time letting go of you and turning you over completely to God’s hands. But I’m realizing that, I don’t know how, but He loves you considerably more than I do. He has a plan for you and all of the years ahead. I’m truly excited to see what he is gonna do with you. I know he has big plans. He’s made amazing use of your talents already.

I want to share a couple of verses to take with you into your adult life

Deuteronomy 30:16 says I command you today to love the Lord your God, to do what he wants you to do, and to keep his commands, his rules, and his laws. Then you will live and grow in number, and the Lord your God will bless you in the land you are entering to take as your own.

And you can’t be a Hunter without your dad and I sending you off with this passage as a goal for your life and your future family.

Deuteronomy 6:5-9 Love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your strength.6 Always remember these commands I give you today.7 Teach them to your children, and talk about them when you sit at home and walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

I wish you contentment, unmeasurable love, a Godly home and fulfillment as you reach for God’s will in your life. never take your eyes off of God. Remember that He is always there for you, guarding your heart, protecting your spirit. Make wise choices and keep your eyes focused up to Him. He is NEVER gonna let you go.

I love you baby boy and nothing will ever change that.

Micheal receiving his blessing.I wrote the blessing for him but I received a blessing from it as well. And then to listen to the other parents doing the same  with their children. God was there with us. I believe all the kids – but especially Michael and Lauren  – took away a lot to thing about.

2 thoughts on “Michael’s Senior Banquet Night Blessing

  1. this was a wonderful thing you done for michael, yes, the tears were flowing, to see and know such love for God and michael can only come from God. Michael i wish you the best in all you achieve for God ,yourself and your family, including grandparents, we love you dearly, and I know God will be pleased with your life, as you take the next step to becoming a man. and prepare for your future. love mamaw and papaw

Leave a Reply

