Variations of Fibromyalgia Treatments – What Works and What Doesn’t?

Yesterday was an exhausting day for me. That’s why things were quiet here on The Journey. Today is a bit better so I am baaaaacccckkkkk. Part of the problem is that yesterday were MIchael and Lauren’s final full day of school. I was very emotional about it. I remember each of their first days of Kindergarten and now they done with their final regular day of their senior year. They just have to go a couple more times to take 3 exams they weren’t exempt from. So in addition to working around here between rest periods I decided to torture myself by looking at their baby books. DUMB IDEA!!! I don’t recommend it on a day like yesterday. It’s getting more and more difficult to claim denial now. Their graduation party is tomorrow and graduation is one week away. UGH!!

Ok – enough of that. You came to read about Fibromyalgia. I thought today I would talk about some of the different treatments that I have tried. Maybe I’ve tried something that you haven’t thought about so we can keep learning from each other. Just like the other day feel free to leave comments about things that you have tried – whether they’ve helped or not. What doesn’t help you may help someone else and vice versa. Plus remember that each comment you leave will enter you in the Fight LIke A Girl tee shirt giveaway tomorrow. By the way, the drawing will be in the evening since we will be covered up with a double graduation party most of the day.

Of course I think I’ve tried every anti-depressant and pain medicine available on the market. The combination I’m taking now seems to be working. In addition to Fibromyalgia I also have chronic depression and anxiety disorder. I’m just gonna list the things I can remember that I’ve taken. Here we go: Wellbutrin, Paxil, Prozac, Neurontin, Lexapro, Cymbalta, Lyrica, Ambien, Trazadone, Celexa, Elavil, Zanaflex, Robaxin, Ultram, Vicodin, Percocet, Nucynta, Morphine, Fentanyl, Actiq, Effexor, Pristiq, Zoloft, Darvocet, Xanax, Ativan, Demerol, Elavil, Lortab. Ok I think that’s all I can remember. I’m sure there are more. Sometimes the side effects were too much for me. Sometimes they stopped working so we had to change. Sometimes I just got no benefit from them at all. It’s all part of the “game”. It’s just a fact of life. Finding the right combination can take a while. Just be patient and try what they doctor suggests. If he’s a doctor you trust then all he’s trying to do is find the right magic formula for your system.

I’ve also had various procedures done. I’ve had trigger point injections, which is a lidocaine injection to the trigger points bothering you the most. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Sometimes it works short term and sometime you get a lasting benefit. I’ve had nerve blocks. I’ve had Radio-Frequency Ablation, which is when certain nerve endings are carterized to block the pain signal. The first time I had it done it worked beautifully. Because the nerve endings regernerate themselves the procedure has to be repeated. When I had it done for a second time a year later it wasn’t as successful. I’ve had Botox injections – not for wrinkles – but for the expectation of pain relief they discovered helped people who suffered with headaches.

I’ve been treated by a chiropractor. I’ve had massages. I’ve used electrical stimulation to relax muscles. I’ve gone to rehab a number of times for therapy. I’ve had acupuncture. I’ve done Yoga – which is really nice and does work for me when done consistently.

I’ve used various homeopathic remedies. I’m currently using Advocare – which is really helping a lot. I use Spark and the BioTools products daily. I can tell a real difference in my fatigue levels and pain levels when I don’t use them. I was really impressed with the benefit I got so I signed up to sell it for the discount. I’d be glad to send you some samples if you would like to try it yourself.

Spark comes in 7 different flavors

BioTools – Two products in one package

As I said earlier, it can take a long time to find the magic formula for you. Try not to get discouraged – I know that is so hard. But there is no healing pill you can take and get better. Fibromyalgia is a lifelong battle. Eventually you can get to the point where YOU control IT instead of IT controlling YOU. Don’t give up! Because that’s definitely not gonna do any good. Keep trying until you find the right thing for you. My current medication formula, massage, Advocare and pacing myself is working for me.

Now it’s your turn – comment! Tell us what you’ve tried! What’s worked for you? What hasn’t? I’m taking notes!

15 thoughts on “Variations of Fibromyalgia Treatments – What Works and What Doesn’t?

  1. I’ve done about all the same things you have and tried the meds., right now I am on Lyrica, Ambien & Percocet along with Xanax for my anxiety. I also am on am natural product called Zija, but I would love to try the Advocare products that you are using if you could send me some samples. Thanks for this blog πŸ™‚

  2. Well, I’m still new to this (finally diagnosed in January) but I have found that resting when I’m tired is the end all, be all. If I try to push I end up really regretting it and I’m down for several days. I take Neurontin, Ultram, Mobic and a high dose of Vitamin D. The Vitamin D helps with the chronic exhaustion most days. One thing you didn’t mention that I have found helps me is very hot baths (like a hot tub). I think a hot tub would be even more beneficial but I don’t currently have the funds to purchase one so in the meantime I just get my bath water as hot as I can stand it.

  3. I recognized and tried a lot of what you mentioned. Right now, what is working for me is Lyrica and Ultram. I also take Zanaflex at night and Skelaxin during the day (when needed). I also go to the chiropractor and massage therapist twice a month. I also have to limit myself on activities. For example, my family and I went to DC for several days, a couple of weeks ago. It has taken me the 2 weeks since to recover.

    Like you said, it will take a while to figure out what works best. So for those of you who are still trying to figure it out, don’t give up!! Oh, I can’t forget the most important thing, prayer. I have a few family and friends that pray for me often.

    I would love more info about the products you use! Please e-mail me at jumpforjoy@gmail.com.

    • Trips are so hard on us – especially flying. I will connect with you to get your snail mail address to send you some samples. It might now be for a few days. We are T minus 7 days till my kids graduate. After that I will have a life again. HA

      • Flying? Really? Oh man. I will be flying for my first time in 10 days. Well, thankfully I will be able to stay at the hotel and rest. My hubby is going on business, so all I have to do is sit back and relax. Yes, take your time. enjoy this time with your children! πŸ™‚

  4. Oh my word! I have tried all meds but 3 or 4. Can’t afford a personal massage therapist. I haven’t tried acupuncture, did it help? I have tried all the other. I still get nerve blocks but it just maximizes the ability to walk lol. I have a very stressful job and a single mom to 2 teenage girls. I know stress makes it worse but who doesn’t have that! Unfortunately the best thing my body needs is to not be pushed, but I have no choice. I have to work and take of my girls. Motivation to get going is the hardest. I just wish more people really understood Fibro.

    • Lisa, if you click on the Moolala button on my main blog page you can find some great deals on massages (and a bunch of other things). I bought a package for 3 one hour massages for $75 in March. My final massage is this coming MOnday but I think I’m gonna keep going. I used to get a weekly massage when we lived in Florida and it really does make a big difference. Acupuncture didn’t do anything but I have heard it helps some people. YOu are a strong woman to be a single mom and work an outside job.

    • This is straight from my Advocare website for Spark: The most nutritionally advanced energy drink on the market
      Sugar-free, long-lasting energy*
      Surprisingly fast-acting*
      Contains 21 vitamins, minerals and nutrients designed to synergistically provide a healthy, balanced source of energy*
      Just 45 calories per serving
      Sharpens mental focus*

      No sugar or artificial sweetners.

  5. Pam,

    As I read through some of the things you have tried for your depression and anxiety, I realize that I have not even come close to dealing with mine in the same way. And they only seem to be getting worse – my anxiety is anyway. I’m really just tired of it. We have no idea what triggers it. Tonight, I had a small panic attack on the way to the hospital. I was on my way back to the ER for a recheck following my strep throat. My throat is fine. My ears are now infected. Oy! Again, we get back to the anxiety attacks and what triggers them. All the doctors can recommend is going to see a therapist and physiologist. I’m game for that. However, I lack the money to do that. I have no medical insurance. What are some of the things you do, outside of medication, to help with your anxiety and depression?

  6. I have tried Lyrica, Neurontin(still currently on low dose).I am currently on Savella and most recently have broken down and am taking Trazadone to help me sleep. I am getting some relief now that I am sleeping some more at night. I know stress really hurts me and also if I push myself too hard I pay for it. The last three weeks have been crazy and I don’t see any relief at least for the next week. I really hope I can get some good rest after that….and much like you Pam I have been a little emotional lately too! My baby will be gone in a few months. πŸ˜₯

  7. I am currently on Ultram extended release. I take 200mg a day and have 100 mg for flare up days. This may sound crazy, and Dr. probably wont recommend it, but I bite the 100 mg to release it all at one time when I have a flare up. It REALLY helps! They make it in a none extended release (so you wouldn’t have to bite it to get all the effect at once) but I have a bad reaction to it. The hot baths also work for me and I add relaxing scented epson salts to my bath water. I would love to try some samples of the Advocare products. Could you email me and I will email you my address. Cymbalta worked for me for a while, but I gained a lot of weight on it. I also tried Savella and it made me fell crazy. I came off it within a week.

Leave a Reply

