A Mother’s Heart Journey

I’m doing a lot of research this week on how to live in an Empty Nest. So I know I’ll be writing about that quite a bit in the weeks to come.

But, for now, I’m still living in yesteryear. I contemplated participating in Wordless Wednesday today. Then as my thoughts evolved I decided to just share a bit from the past. This period of life is about reminiscing and that’s just what I’ve been doing. As any mother of a high school senior can tell you we wonder daily how we got to this point of our lives so fast. I have some regrets in my parenting over the last 18 years. And I made some decisions affected my family in a negative way. And I’ve done a lot of wishing the days away. I have done this hundreds of times in 18 years. I am trying to remember to soak in every minute possible now in these last days we have together before my babies spread their wings and fly from my nest.

But an interesting thing happened when my kids started high school at East Literature Magnet High School. Because we had always been a soccer family I became the year round soccer mom. Girls played in the fall and Guys played in the spring. Most of those times I was also at practices. So, I naturally became friends with Michael and Lauren’s friends. I have counseled them and encouraged them when they needed it. I’ve also become friends with teachers/coaches. This was the part I really treasured because they were open in telling me what my kids were doing in school. I could clearly see what was happening on the tennis courts, golf courses and soccer fields. But this gave me a chance to check up on them while they were in class. “It’s not what you know, it’s who you know”!

So now suddenly all of those people are GONE! Just like that! A snap of the fingers and the vanish. I know there will be new friends that the kids may want to bring home from college on the weekeneds. So, I’ll get a small bit of that back. But now it’s not fair to my kids to stay as involved or as they would say “all up in my business”.

Where am I supposed to find someone struggling with the approaching empty nest? When I found out about my Fibromyalgia I went to the internet and starting looking around and finding people like me. But from my initial searches I’m not finding much. I’m not really even sure what I’m looking for. If anyone has any leads or suggestions please let me know here via the comments section. (By the way, I am a Bible Study leader in our church Women’s Ministry. That helps some.)

Take a look at these and tell me how we got from picture one to picture two for each child. I blinked and missed so much. NO MORE BLINKING ALLOWED!!

Michael then and now.

Lauren then and now.

And them together!

And the final act in high school. This brings us right up to a fork in the road. Lauren will go one path. Michael will go the other path. And Mom and Dad will still be standing at the fork waiting for them to return.

One thought on “A Mother’s Heart Journey

Leave a Reply

