Empty Nesters Make Their Schedule In Pencil

It’s been almost a month. The kids have settled into college life. They are working on scheduling their new lives and making new friends. They have begun the job hunt. So the next phase of life is well under way.

Now it’s my turn. Our empty nest travels are starting this week. Actually as I write this we are in Tallahassee. About six weeks ago I asked Ron about getting tickets for a Florida State Seminoles football game. We chose a good weekend, bought the tix online and here we are. We are staying at his Dad’s.

I must admit it seemed strange to go on a little vacation and leave the kids behind, even though they don’t live at home anymore. I did go through a couple of days of separation issues. Just knowing that we won’t be at home if something happens and they need us. But then I told myself that those thoughts were a normal part of this phase of life. Then I packed my bags and got outta dodge!

The plans have changed a little from what I thought it was gonna be but I’m just gonna go with the flow. I’m living the easy life now. No need to get all worked up when things don’t go according to your plan. I am learning how to NOT be in control of everything. That is a liberating feeling actually.

The main reason we came here is to meet some FSU friends I connected with on Twitter and all go to the game together. Ron and I have never done anything like that before. And I can’t wait! I feel like a kid waiting to go to Disney World.

So this first Empty Nest Adventure may not be turning out quite like I saw it in my head. But that’s ok. I’ve decided to make Empty Nest plans in pencil instead of pen. Then they can be erased and rewritten. I’ve got time. I can be flexible. I’ve got nowhere to be. Actually I think I’ll just take a nap now. See ya on the road!

Leave a Reply

