Who Was YOUR Favorite Teacher?

Welcome to day one of The Sits Girls blogging challenge Fall Back Into Blogging. Today’s prompt is supposed to be a school related story that I’ve not shared yet. That is kind of difficult because I am a former homeschooling mom. So if you looked in the archives of The Journey Leads Home most of what you will see is posts about school. So in order to make this fresh and new I decided to go way back and share from MY childhood days.

My most vivid and impacting school memory occurred for me in first grade. When I was 7 years old I developed Rheumatic Fever and was in the hospital for quite a while and then was home and unable to return to school for a long time. My family had only lived in our new home for a few months and I was at a new school. Halfway through the school year I became ill and it became clear that I was going to miss too much school and was probably going to have to repeat the first grade. However, as it turns out God had put me in a class with the greatest teacher to ever step into a classroom. Her name was Mrs. Chamberlain. As it turned out she lived quite a ways from our small town elementary school. She had about a 40 minute drive one way to follow her heart and touch the lives of about 25 first graders every day of ever school year. Once I returned home from the hospital and it became clear that I was not going to be able to return to school she offered to come to our house after school every day to teach me one-on-one so that I could stay caught up with everyone else. To this day it brings tears to my eyes to know what a sacrifice she made for me. I am 45 years old and if someone asks me today who was my favorite teacher I say Mrs. Chamberlain.

My mom went to work at my elementary school not too long after that and just retired a couple of years ago. Mrs. Chamberlain retired a few years ago as well. I don’t know how many student’s lives she touched in all of her years of teaching but I do know that every one of us were blessed. Her commitment and love for teaching and each of her students inspired me to become a teacher. As it ended up I used my teaching degree to teach my own children. As I sat at the kitchen table each day to teach my children I was reminded many times of Mrs. Chamberlain and I sitting at our dining room table when I was 7 years old while she taught me.

Mrs. Chamberlain and her husband never had children of their own. But I can assure you that she has hundreds of children of all ages spread all over the world. Many years ago, after I became an adult, she told me I could call her Peggy. But I just never could do that. In my mind she was my teacher and I was her student. She is still Mrs. Chamberlain and I am still that little 7 year old girl swinging my feet under our dining room table learning how to add, spell and read. Thanks to her love and commitment I was able to return to school before the end of the year. And I did not have to repeat first grade. Mrs. Chamberlain Rocks!!!!

Leave a Reply

