The Universal Language of Kindness

If you’re not using your smile, you’re like a man with a million dollars in the bank and no checkbook. – Les Giblin

When Ron and I first started dating I noticed that Ron rarely smiled. He was in the army and always tried to portray a tough soldier. I taught him to lighten up and encouraged him to smile more often. I’m pleased to say that I very rarely have to tell him to smile anymore. While he still has a serious personality he is prone to laugh and smile more often.

The theme for You Capture this week is Smile. So simple yet sometimes so hard to do. As someone with a chronic illness it’s not always easy to smile through the pain. I’m sure at times the smile doesn’t come across as genuine on my face. But our world is so fast paced that there are times I’m not positive anyone looks long enough to notice if it’s a real smile or not. You know what I’m talking about. You know the kind of smile that starts in a person’s eyes and makes their face shine. That’s a real smile. The smile that one paints on when they have to is the fake smile. Some people are hard to read. Michael, our son, is the easiest person in the world to read. When he has a fake smile on his face he might as well be wearing a flashing sign on his forehead that says FAKE. All you really have to do though is give him a little poke in the side and you get a real smile out of him because he’s so ticklish.

There’s a real smile from Michael at a year old when he was cruising the couch!

There is one of those “I’ve smiled 8000 times for 8000 different pictures tonight at prom and I’m tired of smiling” smiles at prom with his sister in May 2012.

Now there’s a sweet smile that is priceless to this Mama. How I managed to get that picture I’ll never know. I heard her on the baby monitor just talking up a storm after a nap. I peeked in the door and saw this. I managed to go get the camera and sneak back in to get this picture all without disturbing her enough to make her get up. I still see that precious smile in my mind like it was yesterday.

This is the beautiful smile I see all the time now. She was trying to buckle her shoe while balancing on a soccer ball while her other heel was sinking into the grass.

This past week I got to spend some time with one of my favorite people, besides my family. She always makes me smile because she holds a special piece of my heart. She is my best friend. Best friends share a special bond and a special smile reserved just for best friends.

A warm smile is the universal language of kindness. – William Arthur Ward

Go spread some kindness today and share a smile.

One thought on “The Universal Language of Kindness

Leave a Reply

