Nineteen of The Happiest Years of My Life

Nineteen years ago today God blessed us with our first child, Michael Devon Hunter. This is the first birthday that we are not together. It’s also his first birthday at college. We celebrated it this past weekend. He has been wanting a bike to use on campus. So we bought him a bike. It’s just so hard to think of how many birthdays have come and gone. I remember the cakes, the candles, the parties, the sleepovers, the presents….and now he isn’t big on cake so I made him a pumpkin pie. And he tells us what he wants and goes with us to pick it out and we pay for it.

Michael was actually born at 11:00 a.m. on November 14, 1993. It fell on a Sunday. However my labor began when my water started leaking at 8:00 a.m. on Saturday November 13, 1993. Yes, that is 27 hours of labor. I am proud to say it was all natural! No drugs. No epidural. I remind him of that on a regular basis when it benefits me as I’m sure all of you mothers do. It’s especially useful to my benefit that I pushed for two hours. As it turned out his umbilical cord was too short so every time I would push him down he would move down but when I would stop to take a breath he would bounce right back up again. After two hours the vacuum was my best friend – even if it did give my baby a misshapen head for a few days. It all became clear when the doctor was barely able to get him out enough to cut the cord. I do remember my doctor saying at one point “if you want him out you’re gonna have to push harder”. Thinking back on it now I’m thinking I should have kicked her in the teeth with my foot – the proximity was so close. But looking at Ron and telling him to “make her get him out” was sufficient enough. (I really wish I had thought of kicking her though!)

At any rate, 27 hours later I had a beautiful baby boy. In looking for the right picture of him I decided to spare you the freshly born pictures. Here is a picture taken when he was about 3 weeks old. Considering my actual due date was December 4th and he was born November 14th this picture is a little closer to his actual due date anyway.

Can you stand the cuteness?! I realize that everyone thinks that their baby is the cutest baby in the world. But look at those chubby cheeks, that perfect little nose and those big brown eyes. PERFECTION!

Just to show you how much he has grown the following picture was taken in church this morning in church while Pastor Rob was preaching. I don’t know who the man is sitting further down the row. If I knew anything about editing photos I could probably edit this. But I love this picture of Michael. He’s grown into quite the man of God that his dad and I have prayed for him to be. We couldn’t be prouder of him if we tried.

Happy Birthday Michael! You’ve given me 19 of the happiest years of my life. I couldn’t ask for a better son. You are exactly what Daddy and I prayed for you to be. We continue to pray that you follow God’s leading for your life and follow his will for your life whatever that is and wherever that will lead you.

Leave a Reply

