The Weight Is Falling Away

I am currently 3 pounds away from losing 40 pounds. Huh? Did you not catch that? I’ll say it just a little bit louder for you.

I AM CURRENTLY 3 POUNDS AWAY FROM LOSING 40 POUNDS!!!!!!

Did you catch it that time? I thought you might. I have never in my life ever lost this much weight. I’m really kind of afraid to say it out loud – know what I mean? I’m gonna be perfectly honest with you here because it all plays into my goals. When I originally started losing weight in June I really didn’t have a specific goal in mind. I just knew I didn’t want to weigh what I was anymore. My scale said I weighed 232. And I knew that was too much.

Beforeweightloss

 

Yep – that was me at 232 pounds. Interestingly enough I never really thought I looked that big. But whatever – that’s what the scale said. So after the kids’ graduation in May I decided it was time to get busy. I work with Advocare and we have a trim line so I decided I would order everything in our trim line, change the way I eat and start exercising. So that’s what I did. The weight started dropping off. I started dropping about 5 pounds a month. I also asked my doctor to change any medications I was on that caused weight gain. She was all for it.

By the time August rolled around and we took the kids to college I had lost down to 209. Not done yet but still pleased and very motivated to keep on going.

nationals2012

 

I’m getting there! I’ve continued what I’ve been doing. But for the last 6 months I’ve been pretty much stuck within spittin’ distance of 200 pounds. My first goal was to get below the 200 mark on the scale. I haven’t been below 200 since before I was pregnant with Michael in 1993. When I got pregnant with him I was 170 pounds. So that first goal was to get 199 just to get below 200. Advocare came out with an exercise DVD to accompany the 24 Day Challenge (the full weight loss challenge program). The Advocare 24 Day Challenge started the first half of the year on sale. So I decided this was the chance to overcome my plateau and reach my next goal.

I am currently on day 4 of the 24 Day Challenge. It’s all going smoothly. Smooth as silk. You aren’t supposed to step on the scale till Day 11 for your first weigh in – which is hard because I’m used to stepping on every day – but I’ve done very well. However, I went to the doctor this morning. I noticed when I put my clothes on this morning that my pants fit much nicer. I knew that was a good sign. I decided I would look when she asked me step on the scale. Boy am I glad I did. Not only had I moved off the plateau of the last couple of months but I had also gone BELOW the 200 mark!! I hit 195. I kept saying “that’s a 1…that’s a 1…that’s a 1…” So I hit a goal! I made it below the 200. And that 195 puts me 3 pounds away from 40 pounds. I’ve never lost this much weight! NEVER!!!

My next goal is to drop below the weight I was when I got pregnant with Michael – 170. So my next goal is 169! Anything after that is gravy! I might even taste the gravy – with a biscuit!

meronatwedding

This picture was 7 whole pounds ago but you get the idea!

 

4 thoughts on “The Weight Is Falling Away

  1. Awesome job! I know you feel as great, for the most part, as you’re looking. Such an inspiration to those struggling, and brave to actually put the weight there for all the world to see. Hugs and Kudos to you!!

Leave a Reply

