Life Is Good Award

Ok – honestly – I read this entry on FeliciaFibro’s blog.  While she didn’t actually give me the award and/or tag me for it I decided to swipe it and do it anyway.  Sorry, girl!  But I just know if you had me on the brain at the minute you did this you would have surely offered it to me too.  😉

Life is Good Award!

A big thanks to FeliciaFibro for giving me the Life is Good Award! Check out her blog for very creative, uplifting posts about living with Fibro.

Following are the 10 questions Life is Good Award recipients are asked to complete:

1. If you blog anonymously are you happy doing it that way; if you are not anonymous do you wish you had started out anonymously so you could be anonymous now?
If anyone knows me they know that I have an opinion on just about everything.  Even if I tried to be anonymous I would be found out in no time flat because of my style (which includes humor and sarcasm). As Popeye would say “I yam what I yam”.  Plus I like to share pics of my family and brag on them.  Can’t hide when ya do that.

2.Describe one incident that shows your inner stubborn side.
I have a tendency to let my depression take control.  If you suffer with depression then you know that is a hard fight to win.  I feel like I have turned a corner in my battle with depression in the last 3 years.  I still have bouts of it just as in years before.  However, now I have started fighting it harder when it hits.  I used to give into it like falling into the deep end of the pool.  Then I realized that I can fight it and use my stubborn streak to hold it off.  If I can occupy my mind enough and take a Klonipin or Xanax of course. HA  If I can keep myself from letting that first tear fall then I can fight through it.  If it happens more often then I talk to my doctor and we rearrange my meds.  But I can use the stubborn Stokes streak I was born with  and can fight it!

3.What do you see when you really look at yourself in the mirror?
A woman who is insecure and sometimes lonely.

4. What is your favorite summer cold drink?
Water water and more water.  I also love Lemonade and Green Tea.  But I mostly drink water because I like it but also because it is so healthy.

5. When you take time for yourself, what do you do?
If I’m up to getting out I like to shop, have a frappucino and get a mani/pedi.  If I’m in a flare I like to watch TV “with” my friends and text about what we are watching.  It makes me feel less alone.

6. Is there something you still want to accomplish in your life? What is it?
I want to find a balance in treatments for my Fibro so that I can be what my family needs me to be – not just now but as my kids go to college, get married and have families of their own.  I want to be healthy enough to enjoy all of that to the fullest.

7. When you attended school, were you the class clown, the class overachiever , the shy person, or always ditching?
As I look back now I think I was the invisible one.  But I’ve always had a quick wit.  While I don’t remember it I hope that was evident and that I made my friends laugh.

8. If you close your eyes and want to visualize a very poignant moment of your life what would you see?
The love and playful side of my Papaw.  Because my Dad was so busy I didn’t get to spend a lot of one on one time with him.  But I spent every weekend at my grandparents house.  I visualize the days of wrestling, playing and talking with him.  He was fun and I loved him beyond words.  Having him in my life was the greatest blessing.  I loved every minute with him and my Mamaw.  If I could live life again I would want it to be exactly the same way.

9. Is it easy for you to share your true self in your blog or are you more comfortable writing posts about other people or events?
I don’t feel like I can completely be me anywhere actually.  But those who love me know the real me.

10. If you had the choice to sit down and read or talk on the phone, which would you do and why?
I GREATLY dislike talking on the phone.  But I love to read!  So I would have to choose reading.  If texting with a friend could be substituted for talking then I would choose that as well.

I hope you’ve enjoyed hearing a little more about me. I now pass this award on to 6 other bloggers. I share the Life Is Good Award with:

MamaSick

A Young Wife’s Tale

Musings of a Housewife

Gerri’s Space

All About Kimberly

My Life With Fibro

Here’s the criteria:
To accept the award you must link back and thank the person who gave you the Life is Good award. Answer the 10 questions below and then pass it along to 6 other blogs of your choice.

2 thoughts on “Life Is Good Award

Leave a comment